[REVIEW] ‘Dare You To Lie’ By: Amber Lynn Natusch

*I got to read an ebook of this book for the blog tour! Check out my other posts…

>< read an excerpt from the book!

>< read my interview with author Amber Lynn Natusch!

>< keep reading to find out how to enter to win your own copy of the book!

Graphic - Promo 2 - Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch.png

Official Synopsis:

The first installment in the Hometown Antihero series by Amber Lynn Natusch.

When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her, and the boy who betrayed her.

All Ky cares about is clearing her father’s name, but someone won’t let her forget the photo scandal that drove her away two years ago. As the threats gain momentum, Ky finds an unlikely ally in the annoyingly attractive rookie FBI agent sent to keep an eye on her.

Determined to expose the town’s hidden skeletons, Ky unwittingly thrusts herself into a much bigger plot. They thought she’d forgive and forget. They’re about to learn they messed with the wrong girl.

DARE YOU TO LIE, a young adult mystery read perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Pretty Little Liars, or Riverdale.

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Review:

Amber Lynn Natusch has created a captivating mystery that will leave readers guessing up until the very end, and then will leave them begging for more.

We’re in luck, because this book is the first one in a series, but also not in luck, because (obviously) the next one isn’t out yet!

Kylene, the protagonist, was a very likable character. Not only that, but she was insanely witty, and I was totally here for it. The banter back and forth between her and her best friend Garrett was phenomenal. I found myself laughing so many times throughout the book. Ky’s other friend, Tabby, was a great character as well. She fit in great with their little friend group, and I can’t wait to see her again in the next books.

That being said, her smart mouth got her in trouble. A lot. She was constantly butting heads with the football players, and a lot of it could have been avoided if she had just kept her mouth shut.

The scandal that drove Ky from town two and a half years earlier came to light slowly. Natusch gives us hints along the way, so we aren’t totally left in the dark, and can figure out the jist of what happened on our own. That incident/scandal is what the majority of the book revolves around, although the main focus behind solving that is Ky’s need to clear her father’s name and get him out of jail. While at first, it seems like the two events are unrelated, as more evidence is uncovered, it starts to seem like that might not be totally true.

AJ Miller, Ky’s former boyfriend, is also caught up in the scandal. Although, I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t still ship them. Read the book and you’ll know what I mean! Oddly enough, towards the end, I started taking more of a liking to Agent Dawson (who’s that? You have to read the book!), although presently/realistically, I know that would never work out. Who knows. Maybe Someday.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I think that fans of Riverdale will absolutely love it. It’s the perfect mystery for anyone looking for an awesome young adult series, and I would highly recommend reading it before the next one comes out!

Instagram GIF 1 - Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch.GIF

Connect with the author!

You can follow Amber on Instagram at @allthingsnatusch and on Twitter at @AmberLNatusch!

BUY ‘DARE YOU TO LIE’

Amazon

Target

Barnes & Noble

Graphic - Giveaway - Dare You To Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch.png

 

TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY!

To celebrate the release of DARE YOU TO LIE by Amber Lynn Natusch, we’re giving away a $25 Amazon gift card to one lucky winner!  

LINK:  http://bit.ly/2NWtBJ0

GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to internationally. One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card. This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Amber Lynn Natusch.  Giveaway ends 9/18/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Limit one entry per reader. Duplicates will be deleted.

Author Pic - Amber Lynn Natusch.jpg

AMBER LYNN NATUSCH is the author of the bestselling Caged series for adults. She was born and raised in Winnipeg, and is still deeply attached to her Canadian roots. She loves to dance and practice Muay Thai―but spends most of her time running a chiropractic practice with her husband, raising two young children, and attempting to write when she can lock herself in the bathroom for ten minutes of peace. Dare You to Lie is her debut YA novel with Tor Teen.

Website https://amberlynnnatusch.com/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AmberLynnNatusch
Twitter https://twitter.com/AmberLNatusch
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5399219.Amber_Lynn_Natusch
Amazon http://amzn.to/2DIKNze

Newsletter  http://www.subscribepage.com/AmberLynnNatusch

 

Screen Shot 2018-09-07 at 1.23.31 PM.png

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s